• Durham County RFU Admin

Preview: Durham Men prepare for Bill Beaumont Division Two final at Twickenham

Preview: Durham Men prepare for Bill Beaumont Division Two final at Twickenham

Durham County Senior Men announce the squad to face Warwickshire in the Bill Beaumont Division Two final at Twickenham.

Following three graceful and hard fought victories, the Durham Men have earned their spot at the home of rugby, on Sunday.

The side topped the table in pool one with fourteen points after a 64-5 victory over Cumbria, a triumphant 99-7 reign over Staffordshire and a hard fought 32-10 win over Leicestershire.

Throughout the Championship, players have made appearances from across the County including; Barnard Castle, Billingham, Darlington Mowden Park, Hartlepool, Hartlepool Rovers, South Shields Westoe and West Hartlepool.

Gus Miller, Durham County Men’s Coach said: “We have had three tough games, but we have gone out and stuck to our game plan and the results have followed.

“The Leicestershire game was a great end to the pool fixtures, it was hard fought and a great note to end on heading into Twickenham.”

Durham’s finalists opponents for Sunday completed their Championship in pool two with three victories over; Hampshire, Somerset and the North Midlands.

The team to take the field at Twickenham is; 1. Michael Hughes (Barnard Castle) 2. Tom Larder (Harrogate) 3. Ralph Appleby (DMP) 4. Chris Wearmouth - Capt (Barnard Castle) 5. Talite Vaioleti (DMP) 6. Callum Whitehead (Hartlepool Rovers) 7. Euan Tremlett (Middlesbrough) 8. Danny Dixon (Billingham) 9. Connor Foley (Middlesbrough) 10. Josh Bragman (DMP) 11. Sean Moloney (Middlesbrough) 12. Peter Youll (West Hartlepool) 13. Jack McPhillips (Middlesbrough) 14. Martin Hopley (Billingham) 15. Max Connon (Carlisle)

16. Kieran Clarke (Middlesbrough) 17. Charlie Purkiss McEndoo (Harrogate) 18. Andrew Kirton (South Shields Westoe) 19. Rob Stanwix (Barnard Castle) 20. Callum Burke (DMP) 21. Peter Homan (Middlesbrough) 22. Luke Wilson (Billingham) Travelling Reserves 23. Tom Johnson (Hartlepool) 24. Ryan Foreman (Hartlepool Rovers)

Durham will begin their trip south on Saturday afternoon for an overnight stay ahead of the fixture.

The North East side will round off the day of events at Head Quarters as they follow the Barbarians match and kick off at 5.15pm. The match will be available through live stream on EnglandRugby.com

By Clarissa Murphy


The Durham County Rugby Football Union was formed in 1876 and has been growing, supporting and developing the game of rugby in its area since.


Durham County Rugby Union Office

Telephone: 07917 713 823

Email: dcrfu@rfu.com

  • Twitter
  • Facebook

© 2020 Durham County Rugby. Website created by Squeaky Head Marketing