top of page
  • Writer's pictureDurham County RFU Admin

Over eighty volunteers recognised by Mitsubishi Motors England Rugby programme in Durham County

Over eighty volunteers recognised by Mitsubishi Motors England Rugby programme in Durham County

Mitsubishi Motors has recognised over eighty Durham rugby volunteers in the 2018 volunteer of the year awards.

Durham County volunteers were invited to two evenings, one for the South of Durham volunteers at Tees Valley and one for the Mid and North volunteers at South Shields Vic Young dealership.

The Mitsubishi Motors Volunteer Awards is a programme created alongside England Rugby to recognise and reward volunteers of the grassroots game all over the country for the time they give back to the game.

During the events, volunteers are recognised with a certificate and a Mitsubishi Motors England Rugby Volunteers fleece presented to them. As well, as part of the Durham County RFU Volunteers scheme attendees were also presented with a 25 pound voucher for the England Rugby Store.

At the Vic Young dealership, volunteers had the company of England International and South Shields born, Katy Daley-Mclean to present awards and pose for pictures with.

At each event across the country, a Mitsubishi Motors Volunteer of the Year is named and presented with a glass plaque and a bottle of champagne along with an invitation to the Volunteer of the Year awards at Twickenham.

On behalf of Durham County, Graham Newton of Stockton Rugby Club was named Mitsubishi Motors Volunteer of the Year at Tees Valley described as: “The principle person behind a move of the rugby club to a new shared partnership with Stockton Cricket Club and Grangefield Academy, the club now has funds to improve facilities and has turned into a community club.”

At Vic Young, Graeme Holloway of Horden and Peterlee Rugby Club was presented the Volunteer of the Year award due to his work with the Girl section at the club. His nominator said: “Graeme has made immeasurable contributions towards girls rugby in Horden bringing the team from six to 44 due to his determination, enthusiasm, encouragement and support.

“He has had a massive impact in pulling in new recruits and driving the game forward at the club.”

Across the county, a massive 23 clubs were represented with volunteers receiving recognition for their hard work.

A huge thank you and congratulations goes out to all of the 2018 nominated volunteers from Durham County, for their continued support, including; Adam Pace, Alison Coldwell, Andrew Bell, Andy Flisher, Andy Wilson, Anita Wilson, Barbara Smith, Bill Coatsworth, Billy Lithgo, Bob Newsome, Brian Abbey, Carmel Hurray, Carol Candlish, Caroline McHale, Ciaran Horgan, Charles Thoburn, Clarissa Murphy, Craig Alderson, Dave Bottoms, Dave King, Dave McLeod, Dan Harrison, David Donaldson, David Hill, Elaine Barrett, Emily Hunter, Francesca Harding, Gary Farman, Gary McKay, Gary Routledge, Glyn Hewitt, Graeme Holloway, Graham Newton, Grant Borrill, Ian Kitching, James Houghton, James Sant, Jan Duncan, Jason Barrett, Jim Huxley, John Davidson, John Howe, Kate McHatton, Keith Higgins, Kenny Braham, Liam Lester, Lisa Ingham, Lucy Summerside, Lynne Murphy, Marc Watchman-Atkinson, Mark Handy, Michael Birch, Michael Geritz, Michael Murphy, Michelle Martin, Michael Wilkinson, Natalie Wintersgill, Neil Rochester, Nigel Aucott, Oliver Clewes, Paul Davis, Paul Evans, Paul Geehan, Paul Vinnicombe, Phil Lax, Phil Robson, Richard Lydiatt, Richie Johnson, Richard Wilkinson, Sally Evans, Sarah Grainger, Sarah Sowerby, Simon Ayre, Stewart Hind, Stewart Webster, Terri Miller, Terry Robinson, Tony Hodgson, Tony Irwin, Tony Mills, Traci Jewitt and William Etchells.

By Clarissa Murphy

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Concussion in the Amateur Game Survey

We have a DCRFU Student doing a dissertation on Concussion. If you are over 18 could you please take a moment to take part.


bottom of page